Funders Oral Health Policy Group

In 2005, a small group of funders investing in oral health policy solutions came together to benefit from one another’s experiences and to strategize systems-change solutions to improving oral health. Given that there were limited opportunities for funders to hold these discussions in other venues, the group began meeting regularly, forming the Funders Oral Health Policy Group (FOHPG). Since then, FOHPG has grown to 23 members, some of which focus solely on oral health and others that invest in a range of health issues. 

 

In support of FOHPG, AFL Enterprises, LLC (AFL) offers knowledge and expertise in project management, meeting facilitation, and oral health policy.  Since 2018, AFL has worked with FOHPG, facilitating the Steering Committee, planning and implementing three in-person member convenings per year, and serving as the point-of-contact for all membership needs.

Purpose

The purpose of FOHPG is to provide a learning community in which members consider strategic issues that are key to making significant and lasting oral health improvements; share relevant successes and lessons learned from their work; and, through group dialogue, deepen our collective and individual thinking about policy solutions and systems-change strategies for local and national impact. FOHPG is a resource for members to identify new approaches to implement within their states or regions.

Membership

FOHPG membership is open to organizations who are currently funding work in oral health care.

Membership Benefits

  • Attend periodic convenings that bridge oral health initiatives and funding with state and national policy initiatives.

  • Encourage critical networking in the field with national policy and research presenters, as well as colleagues in grantmaking.

  • Offer a platform for transformative conversations that connect local programmatic efforts with funding opportunities.

  • Provide national context to help funders prepare for – and respond to – shifting needs and priorities in the oral health field.

Interested in becoming a member? Contact us to learn more!

Past Member Webinars

  • 'What is the Current Landscape of the Public Oral Health Infrastructure?’​
    Thursday, May 21, 2020, 1 pm PST 

        Meeting Notes

  • FOHPG June Webinar: Member Discussion
    Tuesday, June 16, 2020, 1 pm PST

        Meeting Notes

  • 'An Update from the Field’​
    Thursday, July 16, 2020, 1 pm PST

       Meeting Notes

  • 'Cultivating Oral Health Policy Champions in Legislators'

         Tuesday, August 25, 2020, 1 pm PST

         Meeting Notes

Upcoming Member Webinars

  • 'Opportunities to Build a System that Works for Everyone'

        Thursday, September 17, 2020, 1 pm PST/2 pm MST/3 pm CST/4 pm EST 

  • 'Foundations as Agents of Policy Change'

       Thursday, October 15, 2020, 1 pm PST/2 pm MST/3 pm CST/4 pm EST 

  • 'Post-Election Insights from Policy Experts & Implications for Oral Health'

        Tuesday, November 17, 2020, 1 pm PST/2 pm MST/3 pm CST/4 pm EST 

  • 'Plan 2021: Strategy to Identify/Build Policies FOHPG will Support'

         Thursday, December 17, 2020, 1 pm PST/2 pm MST/3 pm CST/4 pm EST 

Copyright © 2006-2020 AFL Enterprises, LLC. All rights reserved.